Rocking Pillows

Waaay back in the day when I was still at uni, I had a fantastic Earth Science teacher. He’s a bit crazy, super fun and very knowledgable. He’s also known to fake his birthday on Facebook to confuse the world. So when I found out when his actual birthday was last year, I had the plan to fix him a gift. In the end I failed, but this year the stars aligned and all the things I wanted/needed were easily available.

See, this teacher has a couch in his office. He is (as far as I can tell) the only one with a couch in his office. He also wears hats a lot and quite likes rocks. Clearly I wanted to make him rock pillows for his couch. Last year I couldn’t find the perfect fabric but this year I found it, it was the right size and it was half price off. No beating that right? I also owned some clay that claims to have a ‘stone’-look once dried. This would be perfect to make stony buttons from, right?! Last but not least, the fabric was exactly wide enough that if I bought a 40x40cm pillow insert, it would fit exactly. I wouldn’t have to do a lot of cutting at all!

So off I went to make the buttons. They are simple round ones with four holes made by a toothpick. I made eight, because I figured on making two pillows. So far I’ve completed only the one, but I figured I’d write about it anyway before I forgot. There are four left over, and four on the pillow.

Buttons

Pillow detail

I think they look quite nice. The process was really simple. I cut a 40 by 90 cm piece of fabric, folded over the short edges twice and stitched. Then put pins at 8, 16, 24 and 32 cm along a short edge, sewed the four buttonholes and slit them open. I folded the short edge over by 20 cm and folded the other short edge over too, right sides together*, such that the width would be approximately 38 cm in total. Pinned it and sewed it. I turned it inside out and put pins through the button holes without the pillow in it. I sewed on the buttons in the right places and voila!

Pillow back Pillow

*The long edges were already finished in my fabric, but if they wouldn’t have been, I’d have put the short sides over wrong sides together, sewed the seam, turned it outside out  and sewed it again to make a French seam.

A rocking pillow! I hope he likes it, but if not, I’ll have a new pillow..

About Luus

I'm a girl in my mid-twenties, living in the Netherlands. I like to do creative stuff and I read a lot.
This entry was posted in Projects, Sewing, Tutorial and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Care to share?

