Cheapskate Makes Cute Mugs

What do you do when you walk around the shops looking for awesome mugs, and there are either a. none fun available and b. the semi-fun ones are more expensive than you are willing to pay.

You buy cheap plain ones, grab the glass and porcelain pen that you bought years ago for this purpose and start drawing! No, first you browse the entirety of pinterest only to find that you suck at drawing and that rules out the first ideas you had (this, can’t draw symmetrically, this, can’t draw tails, this, can’t draw cats, this, can’t draw the lines in proportion or this, mug has the wrong shape). I was smart enough to try these ideas on paper before committing to my mugs. In the end I found this page via pinterest and I decided that I would actually be able to draw those. Especially since it doesn’t matter too much if the legs of your zebra are a little to wide etc.

All animals have their butts towards the handle, and they are split up in groups that are semi logical together. Semi because I didn’t think about it beforehand and just started drawing. The first one has an elephant, antilope and zebra (African plains). The second one has a bizon, a bear and a raindeer (Nordic (ish?)). The third one has a rabbit, an armadillo and a fox (Small and cute). The fourth and last one has a giraffe, a camel and a rhino (Africa-ish again?). So without further ado:

Mug backs

Mug fronts

Mug sides

I think they are super cute and they even go together, magical! Once they go in the oven they should also be dishwasher safe. Even if I don’t have a dishwasher (yet). I liked this project and I now also have enough cups to have a teaparty for four!

About Luus

I'm a girl in my mid-twenties, living in the Netherlands. I like to do creative stuff and I read a lot.
This entry was posted in Lucy. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cheapskate Makes Cute Mugs

  1. LiLiPolyClay says:

    Super cute!

Care to share?

