‘Keep-the-hair-out-of-my-face’-device or Caul

For my larp character I wanted something easy to keep the hair out of my/her face. Since I cut my hair it’s much more difficult to braid it out of the way. While the events aren’t for a while yet, I figured it smart to start in time. Especially since I’ve been dreaming about a completely new costume. So I wandered around the internet, as you do, and found this. It seemed easy, I had a bit of fabric I didn’t mind trying a trial run in but also liked for a final product if it would work, so I got to work.

I first .. read the instructions. I know, the deal is to ‘if everything else fails, read the instructions’, however, I’ve never been that type of person. I put ikea furniture together using the actual instructions, even if there are only 2 pieces and it’s obvious how they go together. Anyways, I got out a plate and cut a circle-ish shape out. The fabric was very, very shifty so it was an approximate circle, which didn’t matter much. I did have to place it partially on two of the stripes in the fabric, but I don’t mind the effect.

Sewed it up following the tutorial until I needed to sew about 3/5 of the whipstitched edge. Then I figured I needed to go get hair clips of some kind to keep the thing on my head and deserted the total project. (I do that way to often, abandon something very close to the end.) Well yesterday I decided to pick the project up again and in the time it took to cook my meal and a little more I finished my cowl. Check that puppy out below:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

These are the front and back on my head. They are held on by clips as can be seen below:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Also, no exposed seams within this thing, which is pretty neat if you ask me. It’s also supremely comfortable and it will keep my hair on the back of my head if I put it on correctly. This makes it much easier to run around than with hair flying everywhere. Lastly, below the stripes on the sides, these run vertical as you can also see in the right picture(s) above.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Left is left for me and right right (I thought about that).

I seem to be in a head-cover mode lately, have a look tomorrow at the creation I finished today.

About Luus

I'm a girl in my mid-twenties, living in the Netherlands. I like to do creative stuff and I read a lot.
This entry was posted in Projects, Sewing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Care to share?

