Forgotten

I guess I’m one of the few who looks through her uploaded picture files on her blog and then notices a project that she completely forgot about. I still like this thing so I’m going to show it here anyway. This was made in A few years ago, a friend of mine celebrated her birthday. We were asked to show up in medieval type clothing, so that was the first time I really wore this dress out. However, it was November and cold. I was feeling a little under the weather and the dress wasn’t very warm in the neckline area. Some other friends had brought a very warm fake-fur pullover.

Furry

This was the first time I decided that I needed something  fake-furesque and warm to pull over any too cold clothing. I had thus been looking for something affordable for about 1.5 years. What I eventually found was a blanket. I wanted a hood, so I also got myself a pillow case. The finished project is smaller than the original example. It looks like this:

Cape back

It is basically a blanket folded in half with a cut out in the middle where a hood is attached. I wanted it to be closed on the sides but I also wanted it to be able to open to cover my bed if it was very cold during the night. I had a long hard think about this (read, 3 minutes) before I decided I would use buttons to close it. What you can see below is the monster closed and opened. I like the versatility that this offers.

 Cape flat Full out

Below is the inside of the cape. If you look very carefully you can see 5 black closures on both sides of the cape. They are basically a button on one side and a loop on the other, which can be seen on the right. I lined the hood in more fleece so it’s nice and warm. The hood was really large and sort of fell of my head so I eventually added another button there to be able to close it.

Cape insides Buttons

I am currently wearing it and it’s really warm! I quite like it but for the next time I will find a larger blanket/piece because my arms are only half covered.

About Luus

I'm a girl in my mid-twenties, living in the Netherlands. I like to do creative stuff and I read a lot.
This entry was posted in Projects, Sewing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Forgotten

  1. Pingback: MMM ’15 – Sign Up | Hopefully Creative

  2. Pingback: MMM ’15 – Week 1 | Hopefully Creative

  3. Pingback: MMM ’15 Week 4 and the end | Hopefully Creative

Care to share?

