Deadline Work (3) – Wedding Present

Last time was the Tuesday made shirt, well that Friday it was time for the wedding of the person I’m still in (sporadic, but still) contact with that I’ve known the longest (i.e. since I was 10 years old). I was there the day she came back to school with the biggest grin on her face, she’d just gotten together with her boyfriend, now husband. It’s nice to see how people grow and evolve even if you aren’t going that fast yourself. I knew I’d be too exhausted from the week before to make something to wear, so I settled on a party dress I wore for a 25 year-wedding anniversary of my parent’s friends, I think. However, the present, that was a different matter…

On Thursday, which luckily is the day shops open till late, I was scouring pinterest for fun origami money presents when I found the bill-butterflies. I combined those with the ‘Jar of Luck’-idea I’d come across some time ago. I found a nice jar at a store and got two cups to go along with it, I found some nice bills and started the project.

Side I folded three bills into the bottom part of the wings. The top parts were quotes I found appropriate on pictures, with a hand-written wish on heart themed paper on the back.

“The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams” ~Eleanor Roosevelt
“Happiness lies in the joy of achievement and the thrill of creative effort.” ~Franklin Delano Roosevelt
“Keep your eyes on the stars, and your feet on the ground.” ~Theodore Roosevelt

I also cut some colourful feathers and made a bunch of confetti for in the bottom. I then attached the butterflies to the top of the jar with bouquet wire, this made them seem suspended in air. I personally was a big fan of this.

Front

Last I attached the cups and wrote the card. The idea of the Jar of Luck is that whenever you break something, you keep the shards in the jar, and when you need luck the most, you turn to the jar. In Dutch there is a saying that ‘scherven brengen geluk’, shards bring you luck [bad literal translation]. So this jar is for the times when it isn’t going to plan. And if you need some instant luck, there are two cups you can break easily. I hope they liked it, they did enjoy their party enormously so that was a good start to a hopefully fantastic marriage!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

About Luus

I'm a girl in my mid-twenties, living in the Netherlands. I like to do creative stuff and I read a lot.
This entry was posted in Paper, Projects and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Care to share?

