Those Slippers

So, ever bought a knitting book, found a fabulous pair of knitted house slippers in them and proceeded to knit them up and make them hideous in the process? I have. See the wonderful example below for the gorgeousness I managed to ruin completely. The book is called ‘Breien’ written by Jaroslava Dovcova, and I bought it for approx. 4 euros at the Action.

July 2014 slippers      July 2014 slippers 2

The reason they are now hideous is because I chose the worst shade of old people beige to knit them with. After I’d finished the first, I decided that the  as done in the example was much nicer, so I decided to purchase some fluorescent green. The plan was to frog the first one and knit it again, but I’ve decided I’m lazy.

I’m so lazy that I haven’t actually weaved in the ends and have still worn them plenty of times. There are some redeeming qualities of this project though; 1. they are warm, 2. they are easy to knit (it’s a one-nighter) and 3. they match my new second-hand grandma chair perfectly!

Here is the finished product. You can see the threads still dangling inside them. I will wear them until they fall apart because I failed to finish them properly. I might then finish them properly, who knows..

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

About Luus

I'm a girl in my mid-twenties, living in the Netherlands. I like to do creative stuff and I read a lot.
This entry was posted in Knitting, Projects and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Care to share?

