On a Roll (with a Bow!)

I finished the Duck skirt not long ago, and Saturday I decided to finished another UFO I had thrown in a bag in the corner (probably quite literally). See, I bought this knit fabic, it’s blue-green with turtles and apples and flowers and stuff on it (fairly.. childreny). I tried to get two shirts out of it, a while ago. I succeeded in cutting out the pieces and then my machine decided to stop working and I couldn’t figure out how to get the serger to do what I wanted. So I bagged the projects and threw them in the corner. Where they sat.. and sat .. and sat..

Today I got the bag out and finished one of the shirts. This one is a sleeveless top. Since I didn’t really have enough self fabric to finish the arm holes and neck, I took a bit of red stuff I’ve had in the closet for a while too (I’m still scared of knits, if I’m honest). I cut of a strip to finish the bits and decided I might as well use it to make a bow on the front. I’ve seen bow-blouses all around the net for a while now, and I figured I’d like one myself. If not, I can always cut the bow bit of and have a normal neckline, right?

So you might wonder what it looks like.. Don’t get scared, but here’s my fantastical kiddy top without sleeves but with a bow! Front and back first:

Front Back

And a close(r)-up of the bow and the fabric. See all the cute little turtles and apples and flowers and stuff? The colour is closer to the first picture, but I couldn’t get the flash to cooperate nicely.

Bow Details

Now, I’ll hopefully finish the other shirt soon too!

About Luus

I'm a girl in my mid-twenties, living in the Netherlands. I like to do creative stuff and I read a lot.
This entry was posted in Projects, Sewing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to On a Roll (with a Bow!)

  1. Pingback: Deadline Work (2) – Cowls | Hopefully Creative

Care to share?

