Play Dice With The Universe

Ok, maybe not with the universe, but I like the quote, even if it is most likely not what was actually said. (Something Einstein, blabla).

Anyways, back on topic. I have a friend. She plays DnD (Dungeons and Dragons, for those not in the know). It was her birthday not too long ago. I wanted to make her something to give as a present. Now, for some reason that I don’t really remember, I was searching the internet for weird-numbered-sided-dice a bit before. In DnD the most common dice are d4 (4 sides), d6 (6 sides), d10 (10 sides) and d20 (go guess how many sides that one has..). For some reason I google image searched a d14, because I wanted to know if they existed. I found out they did, and I found a picture of a d14 laid out flat! After a while I put 1 and 1 together and decided to make a d14 shaped dice box for my friend.

I got out the felt I had conveniently bought a bit before, used the garden wire I had bought for my Christmas cards (which will be explained after Christmas (or after I’ve sent all of them)), and sewed the thing together. This is the layout (click on it for link):

14 sided dice

This is the final product. The elastic is to keep it closed when there is something in it, like dice, or little clothespins to form a Christmas card line with a bit of ribbon.

ClosedOpenOpenBottom

Next up, ducks!

About Luus

I'm a girl in my mid-twenties, living in the Netherlands. I like to do creative stuff and I read a lot.
This entry was posted in Projects, Sewing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Care to share?

