Gifts – 3

The last series of gifts was for four friends who celebrated their birthdays and moving house. I only knew two of the four, but I thought it was not very nice not to fix presents for all four. So I decided to make a series of zippered animal pouches. I’d seen this blogpost when it first came out, and was immediately in love. I decided to do a cat face pouch. That left me with 3 more animals (since I wanted different ones). I pinterested and found this one. Two down, two to go. I thought some more, googled a bit and thought ‘I want a rabbit’! So that was number three. Lastly I figured I wanted a frog, since frogs are awesome and I still had a green bedsheet that could be used.

I first sketched what I wanted and then used paint to draw all my designs. Yes, I know that paint isn’t the fancy tool to use for this sort of thing, but I happen to love paint and know how to work with it, so that’s what I did.

Drawings Click this image for a bigger version

After I drew all of them, I went upstairs to find all the scraps I could. I managed to eke out all my design in those scraps (and the green sheet I’d already allocated to the frog). I’m going to post a tutorial of how I made the frog tomorrow. Even if you guys don’t find it interesting at all, I want to practice with tutorials and it’s my blog so I can do what I want, right?

Anyway, I proceeded to put together a frog, a cat with fish, a whale and a rabbit with carrot in one evening and one morning. It didn’t take me as much time as I thought it would, so that was nice. Here they are:

Whale open Whale back

This is the whale, made of a couple of scraps of Mondriaan-esque fabric. The scraps were not large enough to accommodate the whole whale, so his back is pieced. His tail is stuffed, because it fell down and just looked sad. All the pouches have a red back lining (only back) to hide most of the seams and to give an impression of an open mouth when they are opened. I also added loops so they can hang somewhere.

Rabbit open Rabbit back

Second was the rabbit. Since it is a rabbit, it required a carrot of course, and big front teeth. I also added a nose to this one. The orange and green was scraps from the scraps of the cat.

Cat open Cat back

This is the cat. The cat has a fish and is made from scraps of my frog dress. Which is why there is a frog and and leg on the front and back respectively. I actually really like this one, it’s my favourite.

Frog open OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is the frog (I forgot to take a picture of the back, but it’s identical to the front but without the zipper and eyes). The frog you’ll see more of in the next post. His birth was fully documented. The closed fronts of all the pouches are seen to the right.

They are a fairly colourful bunch together, and I like them all. Tomorrow the frogorial.

About Luus

I'm a girl in my mid-twenties, living in the Netherlands. I like to do creative stuff and I read a lot.
This entry was posted in Projects, Sewing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Care to share?

