Gifts – 2

The second gift was a ‘change door hanger’. What is a change door hanger, you might wonder. Well, it’s something I made up myself while I was packing to get on a 1.5 hour train trip. I knew I didn’t want to read in the train that day, so I figured that I should bring something to do. So I brought fabric, scissors, thread, a zipper, paper, pens, needles etc.

The idea was to make a bird house that could hold change that you could give to people who come by the house to collect money for charities and such. The idea is the same as of the zippered pouches that will be detailed in the next instalment of ‘gifts’. I made a zipper in the bottom and a big hole in the front. This was all hand sewn, and I was very pleasantly surprised by the results. It went better than I thought it would. I also finished in a decent time. I only needed 10 more minutes after I’d gotten of all the public transport I’d taken.

I attached a length of ribbon such that the house could be hung on a door handle or a nail or something. The idea then is that you drop change through the big hole and can take it out via the zipper. I hope it works.

Front Back

I don’t know if you recognise a bird house shape. I think it got lost a bit along the way, but I had fun. She at least liked the idea I’d made something, so I think it’s wins all around.

About Luus

I'm a girl in my mid-twenties, living in the Netherlands. I like to do creative stuff and I read a lot.
This entry was posted in Projects, Sewing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gifts – 2

  1. craftymadre says:

    What a great idea!

Care to share?

