Gifts – 1

With school over, I’m now (still) enjoying holiday and searching for jobs every now and again. However, I also found that there are a lot of things you can do during holiday that involve getting out of my house. Since I’ve made so many (house-warming) gifts in the past weeks, I figured I’d dedicate multiple blog posts to that. Let’s start at the beginning.

The first gift was meant as a house-warming type gift. I made three cocktail stick hedgehogs/porcupines for three different friends. The first friend just moved with her boyfriend to a new house. As I’d visited her before but that had been unexpected I didn’t have a gift at the time, and I wanted to give one. The second friend also just moved with her boyfriend to a new house, as I’d be visiting the house and them I figured I wanted to bring a little gift. The third friend was celebrating his birthday, and he likes cooking, so I hoped he’d like it (yes, this was all in the same week, I was busy).

I hope you are curious to find out what cocktail stick hedgehogs are, since I’ve got pictures here.

Hedgehog! With sticks

I made three different coloured ones, because I was using my left-over fimo clay. There is an aluminium base in, and it is covered by two different colours of fimo clay that were put through a pasta machine repeatedly. After I’d finished the covering, I googled hedgehog (to get them the distinctive hedgehog face shape) which involved making a little nose that pointed upwards. I added a black nose and eyes and pricked them with a stick. They were baked and were then ready to serve as cocktail stick holders.

Fully sticked 

This is one of them fully stocked with sticks. I personally think that they are super cute. If the recipients don’t fancy them, they can always throw them out.

So this was part 1. Stay tuned for the next instalment.

About Luus

I'm a girl in my mid-twenties, living in the Netherlands. I like to do creative stuff and I read a lot.
This entry was posted in Clay, Projects and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Care to share?

