Armour

This time it’s armour without injuries! Some pinpricks don’t count, of course. So I actually finished my armour in time for Friday. If my character would have died, which thankfully it didn’t, I’d have a new outfit. I’m still doubting whether to put on the shoulder pads, any advise?

Front Back

This is what it looks like on. It’s based on the free vest pattern from Burda, the Franzi. I seem to base a lot of my patterns on that thing. It is really heavily modified though, a lot of fabric was removed from the centre, a more pronounced princess seam curve was necessary, since it gaped in the armhole. I think I should probably have added something strong down the back, to keep it from rippling. The fake leather stuff was attached to the black lining by machine apart from the top, bottom and armholes, which were attached by hand, using a blanket stitch.

These are the outside and inside. I had fun hammering in those 22 grommets.

Outside Inside

I have finished the shoulder pieces, but I’m a bit afraid of attaching them. I’m probably going to hammer two grommets in the front and back of the shoulder pieces and the armour itself. Then attach with rope, so I can take them off if necessary.

Shoulders

About Luus

I'm a girl in my mid-twenties, living in the Netherlands. I like to do creative stuff and I read a lot.
This entry was posted in Projects, Sewing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Armour

  1. Megan says:

    The shoulder pads make it look more medieval/dungeons and dragons way. Without the shoulder pads it reminds me of an Electra costume. Either way, it looks great. You have a lot more patience than me, I always add a zipper to things that are laced, I don’t have the patience to lace them up myself when I want to wear it.

Care to share?

