Thrifting

I’ve been trying to find carders at an affordable level to further continue on the journey of the homespun scarf (or something similar). In order to do this, I’ve been wanting to visit second-hand shops to see if they have them there. Since they are available new, but they cost >50 Euro and I am not willing to spend that kind of money on an experiment.

There is an online ‘vendingplace’ where people can sell their stuff, but I haven’t had much luck there either. There is a lot of demand and little supply, so classic economics teaches us that the price will be high. This is sadly the case. So the second option is those second-hand shops. One pesky little objection to this brilliant idea is that they are generally open from 10-5 on weekdays on limited or not at all on Saturday. Since I am at school each weekday from 9 to 5, this is making it difficult to visit second-hand shops.

However, the other day I was able to go to the one in the next ‘city’ over. They didn’t have carders, or knew what they were, but they did have some patterns that I liked. Although I don’t really wear dresses, I like the pictures a lot generally. I also tend to choose patterns for the pictures (yes I know that this is logical), and ignore those with terrible fabric choice. I can find it difficult to see past that. I found 3 dresses/skirts and 1 men’s shirt that I had a plan for (that failed). They were 25 cents each, which I figured I could spare. Anyways here are my patterns:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I really like this skirt/blouse? combo because the picture looks so happy. I think that only the skirt is a contender for making, but I like to look at the happy girl.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The men’s shirt that I don’t think I’ll really ever use. However, I like the dress. I hate the ruffle on the right line drawing, but I like the left one a lot. I find that kind of neckline interesting, and I’m curious to see what the pattern piece actually looks like.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

I also really like the idea of this wrap skirt. I think it looks nice, and keeps movement possible. Also the vest thing I like. It would be interesting to try. While I’m not very interested in the boxyness of the jacket, I do find the sleeves fascinating, so maybe there will be some sort of incarnation of that someday. Hopefully I’ll be able to find some carders someday.

About Luus

I'm a girl in my mid-twenties, living in the Netherlands. I like to do creative stuff and I read a lot.
This entry was posted in From Sheep to .., Sewing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Care to share?

