Fronts Fronts Fronts Fronts Fronts!

Sing the title and you’ll know what I mean. I have finally finished the fronts of my cardigan! Yay!

I know it’s the start of the new year and people tend to make ‘achievement’ lists of the past 366 days, but I refuse to do that. After all, nothing really changed between the 20th of December and now. The passing from the 3rd of January to the 4th is equally special as from the 31st of December to the 1st of January. Maybe I’m wrong. If you want to see what I did this year you can look in Finished projects, it should all be sorted there.

Back to the cardigan. I still need to make the collar thing, which involves picking up and knitting, something I’ve never done before, but youtube is very helpful in this. However, I think I should first iron or press or something, the side on which I need to pick up those stitches, because right now it’s impossible. It doesn’t help that the yarn is black, and I barely see the v’s that I should pick up. I tried and frogged (?) it about 4 times before I gave up and went to sleep. However, in theory I could now put it together and wear it. It should look something like this:

Cardigan

Although it should then be attached together, buttons added, with a collar and without all the loose threads. Still it’s starting to come together and I’m quite happy with it, it seems to fit without being overly enormous on me.

So now onto the collar, I can possibly wear this thing during this winter!

About Luus

I'm a girl in my mid-twenties, living in the Netherlands. I like to do creative stuff and I read a lot.
This entry was posted in Knitting, Projects and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fronts Fronts Fronts Fronts Fronts!

  1. paulineos says:

    This will be lovely when it’s finished! Black yarn is notoriously difficult to work with, even in very good light. But worst case scenario, you could cast on and knit the collar separately and sew it on, possibly even covering the seam with a narrow (velvet) ribbon to make it look like a deliberate design feature!

    • luus says:

      Thanks! Yes, I already thought about something like that. There are other ‘design’ features in it, holes in the sleeves from using the wrong ‘add a stitch’ method and a buttonhole at a shorter interval than the others. It’s the idea that counts, right?

      • paulineos says:

        Once you’re wearing it, only you will notice. Plus, it’s amazing the difference careful blocking can make- it’s like a facelift for knitting!

Care to share?

