Wardrobe

While I was looking through my cupboard the other day, I noticed a somewhat worrying trend. The types of clothing items that I make for myself, are not in proportion to the types of clothing items I wear regularly. I made myself quite some dresses and skirts, while I practically never wear those in ‘real life’. There’s specific etiquette when wearing skirts and dresses, and I have failed to master that.

So when I go to school, with the promise of wearing at least one item of clothing I made myself, I find myself reaching for pants, a t-shirt and a sweater or jacket. The issue with this combination is that I only have 3 pants, 1 t-shirt and 1 jacket I can employ like this, although I have worn a blouse and some of the dresses and skirts at some point to school. The pants now get the most wear (as expected), the t-shirt is a bit strange, so I don’t wear it often, only under sweaters, and the jacket is quite nice, so that gets some rotation too. I now also wear a vest on occasion, with a button down blouse (bought) under it. However, this lack of nice things has given me another objective. Sew more things you’ll actually wear. So that’s what I’m doing now.

I’ve made a nice blue t-shirt Friday night 2 weeks ago. It’s unfinished at the top, arms and bottom (basically only serged and sewed the side seams and I traced it from a nice fitting t-shirt). I’m quite happy with it really. I love the colour, and I still have quite a bit of the fabric I used left, so I think I’m going to have two blue shirts in the near future.

This is it:

 

It’s been in regular rotation since I made it. I really really like it, and I really want another one, so I can wear them more often.

 

About Luus

I'm a girl in my mid-twenties, living in the Netherlands. I like to do creative stuff and I read a lot.
This entry was posted in Projects, Sewing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wardrobe

  1. Pingback: Finalemente | Hopefully Creative

  2. Pingback: MMM ’13, 1-2 | Hopefully Creative

  3. Pingback: MMM ’13 8-14 | Hopefully Creative

  4. Pingback: MMM ’15 – Week 1 | Hopefully Creative

Care to share?

