Washing Machine

It is customary in the Netherlands to celebrate a thing called Sinterklaas. It’s basically a different version of Saint Nicholas or Santa. However, we celebrate it on the 5th of December, we tell kids it’s his birthday, but the real Sinterklaas died that day. You buy gifts for people and sing songs. Some people celebrate it by making ‘surprises’. All the names are put into a hat and everyone gets one that is not his name, they buy presents for this person and make their ‘surprise’. The surprise is related to the person you buy the presents for and also has a poem with it.
So.. for the 2011 celebration of Sinterklaas (which we celebrated the 18th of December)  I had my mother’s name. She has been complaining that she hates sorting our black socks, because they are all different but all black.  I made a washing machine, I put some coloured socks in with instructions on them and she had to match socks and follow the instructions. She seemed to like it.

It was all made of cardboard and covered with white paper. I used a picture of our washing machine to make the label in the top right corner. Here are some pictures:

 

I really enjoyed myself making it. It was fun to see that it did work and that she liked it. All in all my Sinterklaas was a lot of fun.

About Luus

I'm a girl in my mid-twenties, living in the Netherlands. I like to do creative stuff and I read a lot.
This entry was posted in Projects and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Care to share?

