From Clay to Silver – Part 2

So the next day I came home late after work and we started finishing the piece I was making. This involved a lot of sanding, with minute files, and increasingly finer sandpaper. The idea is that every flaw and crease you get out before firing you don’t have to sand once it is finished. So while I was working on the flower everything went alright. I got it sanded to where I wanted it and that was all fine. But then I got to work on the little stem like bit the rose was going to be attached to. It went fine for quite some time, but eventually I accidentally broke the loop of. However my aunt insisted that we could glue it back on and it would not be too much of a problem. So after sanding both bits and deciding it was good enough we wetted the ends of the break and added a little silver clay from a syringe, and stuck the bits together again. I used a brush to spread the clay as far as possible as to reduce the amount of sanding that was needed. We popped it in the over at 100 degrees so it was well dried before I sanded everything off that needed to go. And then we stuck the flower to the stem bit. Again same method with dampening the bits where I wanted them to stick together and then adding some syringe stuff. It fitted perfectly. Popped it the oven again and then syringed the back to make it one piece for added strength. Sanded and sanded and sanded until I was fed up and we decided it was fine.

Then the exiting bit. Filling the sink with water in preparation. Then we placed a mesh over the cooker hob and turned it on after we put the hanger on it. Turned the lights of and saw it glowing red. Counted down 2 minutes and then put it in the cold water to cool. When we took it out it was white, but my aunt grabbed a little steel brush and made me brush.. and from underneath the white came very shiny silver!

I was so incredibly surprised and happy, I couldn’t sleep for another hour after I finished sanding it and using an agate to make it shine even more. I’m so happy with it.

I hope you like it as much as I do! I’d like to hear of your adventures with silver clay, some day!

Finished Silver Hanger

Finished Silver Hanger!

About Luus

I'm a girl in my mid-twenties, living in the Netherlands. I like to do creative stuff and I read a lot.
This entry was posted in Jewellery, Projects and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Care to share?

